Author Will Attempt First Ever Transatlantic Standup Paddle Crossing

This November, Chris Bertish (author of Stoked!) will attempt to be the first person to cross the Atlantic Ocean on a standup paddle board (SUP). He’s doing this in support of South African children’s charities, the Lunchbox Fund and the Smile Foundation. You can learn more about how he plans to accomplish this seemingly impossible feat on his website.

Keep reading to check out a fascinating interview with Chris and learn more about his book, Stoked!… 


Chris Bertish to Attempt First Ever Transatlantic SUP Crossing

John Ashley | Standup Journal

JA: Solo, unsupported? Let’s clarify that for the record.

CB: Yes. I will be standup paddling from Morrocco to Miami, by myself, without a support boat. I will be unsupported; I will be on my own.

JA: And fear? Or maybe I should rephrase that as “concerns”?

CB: If I were forced to identify something that concerns me, I’d have to say that I do think about cargo ships at night. (Long pause)

The thing is, for me, I don’t look at this as a fear, it’s just something that is a reality out there at sea.

JA: I have to ask, how does preparing and surfing huge waves both in South Africa and here at places like Mavericks (Chris won the Mavericks Contest in 2010) tie in with long distance stand up paddling?

CB: I don’t see a disconnect between the two…If it’s in the water, it’s for me. I surf stand up boards, I flatwater paddle them- just like I surf big waves and small waves, sailing, paddling, surfing- it’s all the same.

Read the full interview on Standup Journal>>>


Stoked!

An inspiring story about courage, determination and the power of dreams

9781770227644This is the story of how a skinny little kid from Kenilworth in Cape Town managed to travel halfway around the world without sponsorship, and then outwit, outsmart, and outperform the world’s best-paid professional athletes on a day that changed his life, and the sport of big-wave surfing, forever …
Big-wave surfer Chris Bertish was the first South African to brave the monster waves of Mavericks, winning the Mavericks Big Wave Invitational surfing event in the biggest and heaviest waves ever recorded in the history of the sport. That same year, he finished third on the Big Wave World Tour, despite only surfing three of the five events.
Chris’s mantra is Dream it, See it, Believe it, Achieve it. With his infectious enthusiasm, Chris tells how he pulled off death-defying antics, time and again, overcame overwhelming obstacles and maneuvered around the many random twists of fate to achieve his goals and fulfill his dreams.
Read Stoked! and understand why Chris says, “Nothing is impossible, unless you believe it to be!”

Purchase your copy here>>>

 

One thought on “Author Will Attempt First Ever Transatlantic Standup Paddle Crossing

Leave a Reply

